CHAPTER XXV.—MISCELLANEOUS ADMINIS-TRATION.

Section 1.—Public Lands.

Subsection 1.-Dominion Public Lands.

The Crown lands of the Dominion of Canada are situated (a) in the Prairie Provinces (Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta), (b) in the belt of 20 miles on either side of the main line of the Canadian Pacific Railway, known as the Dominion Railway Belt of British Columbia, and (c) in a block in northern British Columbia, containing 3.500.000 acres, known as the "Peace River block" Every person who is the sole head of a family and every male who has attained the age of 18 years and is a British subject or declares his intention to become a British subject, is entitled to apply for entry for a homestead. The lands are laid out in townships of 36 sections. Each section contains 640 acres and is divided into quarter-sections of 160 acres. A quarter-section of 160 acres may be obtained as a homestead on payment of an entry fee of \$10 and fulfilment of certain conditions of residence and cultivation. To qualify for the issue of the patent, a settler must have resided upon his homestead for at least 6 months in each of 3 years, must have erected a habitable house thereon, and must have at least 30 acres of his holding broken, of which 20 acres must be cropped. A reasonable proportion of the cultivation should be performed in each of the 3 years. A reduction may be made in the area of breaking where the land is difficult to cultivate on account of scrub or stone. Provision is made on certain conditions for residence in the vicinity, in which case the area of cultivation must be increased.

Lands in Saskatchewan and Alberta, south of township 16, are not open for homestead entry, except by actual residents in the vicinity of the land applied for, but such lands may be secured under grazing lease.

Disposal of Dominion Lands in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta. —According to figures supplied by the Department of the Interior, the total surveyed area (all water-covered lard, road allowances, parks, etc., deducted) at Jan. 1, 1929, was 168,177,095 acres. Table 1 shows the distribution of the surveyed area for each of the three Prairie Provinces as at Jan. 1, 1929. In addition to the surveyed area, there are large tracts of land in the northern part of these provinces, which have as yet been only very little explored. The total area of unsurveyed land is 475,843 square miles.

Maps showing the disposition of Dominion lands and lands available for entry, and reports on the resources and development of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, and Alberta, have been issued by the Natural Resources Intelligence Service of the Department of the Interior. Some of these are as follows:—Land Maps of Saskatchewan and Northern Alberta; small Land Map of the Prairie Provinces; Land District Maps of the different Dominion Land Agencies; Manitoba, its Develop-